Retired Athletic Trainer Dean Adams Among Eastern Greats Honored on Oct. 10

Retired Athletic Trainer Dean Adams Among Eastern Greats Honored on Oct. 10

Space is still available for Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at 8:30 a.m. at Pence Union Building prior to EWU-Cal Poly Game

Link to Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame Page & Complete 2015 Induction Class

With all the injuries the Eastern Washington University football team has endured already this season, it’s fitting that Dean Adams will be inducted into the school’s Hall of Fame on the day of its next game.

The former Eastern football/track and field standout and longtime University of Oregon athletic trainer will be among the seven individuals and one team honored when the 15th induction of the Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame takes place Oct. 10, 2015, in Cheney, Wash.

The induction breakfast and ceremony will start at 8:30 a.m. on Oct. 10 at the Pence Union Building. The public is invited to attend and the cost is $20 per person. Guests must register via a link available at Inductees will also be honored at halftime of EWU’s football game against Cal Poly later that day (kickoff is at 1:05 p.m.), as well as Eastern’s volleyball game that evening against Portland State at 6 p.m.

Basketball scoring and rebounding machines Randy Buss (1969-72) and Kathleen Nygaard-Kaut (2000-04) will be honored, as well as a trio of athletes from the 1960’s. They include Adams, baseball player/contributor Gary Glasgow and gymnast/contributor Randy Carruthers.

Also, the 1966 baseball team will be inducted on the 50th anniversary of that’s team’s Evergreen Conference and NAIA District 1 titles under the direction of Hall of Fame head coach Ed Chissus. Glasgow played on that squad, as well as previous Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame inductee Bill Diedrick Jr., who was also an All-America football quarterback at Eastern and has since gone on to a highly-successful coaching career. Diedrick, Glasgow, Bill Goble, Ken Stacy, Paul Sterling and Rich Wharf will return on Oct. 10 to represent that team.

In addition, Ruth Van Kuren and her late husband Lawson Van Kuren will be recognized for their 40 years of involvement with track and field, including 30 years as Eastern officials. They will be the recipients of the Eastern Hall of Fame Service and Contribution Award.

Formerly from Manson, Wash., Adams was the runner-up in the triple jump at the NAIA Championships in 1966 and held the school record in that event for nine years. On the gridiron, he earned first team All-Evergreen Conference honors in 1964 as a cornerback and the following season was honored on the NAIA All-District 1 squad. He had a successful and honor-filled career as a Hall of Fame collegiate athletic trainer, including from 1980-2003 at Oregon.

Buss and Nygaard-Kaut combined for 2,865 points and 1,603 rebounds during their careers at Eastern. Buss was a NAIA All-American and set five school records, including a scoring average of 25.2 points per game in the 1971-72 season. He scored 1,399 points and had 849 rebounds in three seasons at Eastern.

Nygaard was a three-time All-Big Sky Conference first team selection (2002-03-04) and EWU’s first-ever Kodak/WBCA All-America finalist as an All-Region 7 selection in 2004. She was also selected twice as a member of the Big Sky Conference’s All-Tournament team (2003-04), and earned Academic All-America second team honors as a senior. She scored 1,466 points and had 754 rebounds in her four-year career.

Carruthers was a three-time NAIA All-American in gymnastics, and won the NAIA Championship in the long horse vault in 1967. He helped Eastern finish fourth as a team in 1967 and third in 1968 before embarking on a coaching career in the sport.

Glasgow earned All-Evergreen Conference honors all four years he played at Eastern (1965-66-67-68) and earned honorable mention NAIA All-America accolades. He went on to be a Hall of Fame coach at his alma mater -- nearby Medical Lake (Wash.) High School.

Glasgow hit .345 for the 1966 baseball team, which finished 15-10 to set a single season record for victories, and also set a school record for runs with 142 (5.7 per game). As district champions, Eastern advanced to the NAIA Pacific Coast Playoffs where its season came to a close with a narrow, 3-2 loss to Linfield, which would go on to win the national title.

Established in 1996, this year’s inductees will bring the total number of individuals in the Hall of Fame to 74 and teams to 13. There are also currently 14 recipients of the Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame Service and Contribution Award. All of the inductees and induction classes may be viewed at:

View: Mobile | Desktop