Sarah Reiter Finishes Ninth at West Regional Championships to Qualify for NCAA DI Championships

Sarah Reiter Finishes Ninth at West Regional Championships to Qualify for NCAA DI Championships

Last year's Big Sky Champion, junior Sarah Reiter, led the Eagles to a 12th place team finish at the West Regional Championships in Seattle, Washington

Seattle, Wash – The Eastern Washington University women's cross country team finished 12th place finish at the West Regional Championships at the Jefferson Park Golf Course in Seattle, Wash. The women's team was led by junior Sarah Reiter, whose ninth place overall qualifies her for the NCAA Division I Championships in Louisville, Ky., on Saturday, Nov. 21. Her ninth place finish awards her with NCAA DI All-Region Honors.

The last time an individual athlete qualified for the NCAA DI Championships was in 2008 by Paul Limpf. The last time a female athlete qualified for the NCAA DI Championships was in 2007 by Mattie Bridgmon.

The men's team finished 18th overall in the west region. The top finisher for the men's team was junior Alex Kimsey who finished in 90th.

The University of Washington men's team won the West Regional Championships while the University of Oregon won the championships for the women's team. The Ducks are ranked No. 4 in the nation as of the Nov. 3, week six women's national rankings and ranked first in the West Region. The Huskies were ranked No. 3 in the West Region behind second place Stanford and third place Oregon in the men's rankings.


Top Finishers

Finishing behind Reiter (ninth, 20:53.9) was senior Berenice Penaloza, who finished the race in 51st place with a time of 21:35.9. After Penaloza, senior Catie Arrigoni finished in 70th with a time of 21:54.2.

Finishing after Kimsey (90th, 32:54.1), was senior Aaron Brenton, who finished in 100th place with a time of 33:07.6. Following Brenton was junior Stephen Bottoms who finished in 111th place with a time of 33:27.0.


Top 20 Team Scores


1. Washington (63), 2. Stanford (83), 3. Oregon (99), 4. WSU (125), 5. Boise State (137), 6. California (146), 7. UCLA (163), 8. UC Santa Barbara (184), 9. Portland (200), 10. Gonzaga (253), 11. San Francisco (273), 12. Cal Poly (344), 13. UC Davis (389), 14. San Jose St. (409), 15. Arizona State (422), 16. St. Marys (Cal.) (469), 17. Loyola Marymount (535), 18. Eastern Washington (551), 19. Santa Clara (562), 20. Cal St. Fullerton (574)


1.Oregon (79), 2. Boise State (80), 3. Washington (105), 4. Stanford (121), 5. San Francisco (182), 6. Gonzaga (224), 7. California (234), 8. Arizona State (243), 9. Portland (286), 10. UCLA (334), 11. WSU (343), 12. Eastern Washington (344*), 13. Cal Poly (322*), 14. Arizona (354), 15. UC Davis (360), 16. Loyola Marymount (362), 17. Idaho (450), 18. San Jose St. (520), 19. Oregon State (531), 20. UC Santa Barbara (553) *tiebreakers


Overall Finishes

Men's Team

Place                                     Time                      Ave. Mile            Ave. KM

90. Alex Kimsey                32:54.1 5:17.9                    3:17.4

100. Aaron Brenton         33:07.6                  5:20.1                    3:18.8

111. Stephen Bottoms   33:27.0                  5:23.2                    3:20.7

118. Austin Oser               33:40.9                  5:25.4                    3:22.1

142. Isaac Kitzan               34:07.1                  5:29.6                    3:24.7

194. Daniel Schofield      36:01.9                  5:48.1                    3:36.2

198. Dallas Snider             36:15.8                  5:50.4                    3:37.6

Women's Team

Place                                     Time                      Ave. Mile            Ave. KM

9. Sarah Reiter                   20:53.9                  5:36.2                    3:29.0

51. Berenice Penaloza    21:35.9                  5:47.4                    3:36.0

70. Catie Arrigoni              21:54.2                  5:52.3                    3:39.0

105. Katie Mahoney        22:21.1                  5:59.5                    3:43.5

114. Paula Gil-Echevarria   22:25.3                  6:00.7                    3:44.2

136. Mayra Chavez          22:43.9                  6:05.7                    3:47.3

140. Chelsea Ribeiro       22:47.8                  6:06.7                    3:48.0


Quoting Head Coach Chris Shane

"I thought our teams ran very tough under very miserable conditions. It was raining sideways and the wind kicked up and it was one of the worst races, condition-wise, that I have ever been to. It was very muddy and absolutely everyone was drenched in rain. It just make the race that much tougher. We had much higher aspirations for our team's finishes and ultimately we lacked a little experience at the regional meet which proved to be the difference in our finish today. With that being said, our team showed a lot of heart. Our women's team finished 12th and our men's team finished 18th and I thought they battled hard all the way. Both teams raced very similarly, they just lacked experience at this level. I am looking forward to great things to come from this group as they become more experienced and tuned to this level of competition. This is just the beginning."

"Sarah ran an exceptional race. We designed a racing plan for her and she executed it perfectly. I think she is going to represent Eastern Washington University very well at Nationals next week. Her ninth place finish is one of the highest we have had in the program. A ninth place finish at this meet is really something special and I think that she has got what it takes to go to the National meet and perform very well – I am looking forward to that."

"With most of our team, the season comes to an end and I think we are highly motivated for the track season to start and to double our efforts and use this as a learning experience."

Up Next

Reiter will conclude her season at the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships in Louisville, Ky., on Saturday, Nov. 21. She is the fifth female athlete to compete at the National championships in program history.

The top two teams from each region automatically qualify for the National Championships. After today's races, the current men's teams that are automatically qualified for the championships are Florida State, Ole Miss, Arkansas, Texas, Louisville, Virginia, Georgetown, Penn, Syracuse, Iona, Michigan, Michigan State, Oklahoma State, Minnesota, Colorado, UTEP, Washington, and Stanford.

Automatic qualifying women's teams include Vanderbilt, Mississippi State, Arkansas, Texas, Virginia, North Carolina State, Penn State, Georgetown, Providence, Syracuse, Michigan, Notre Dame, Oklahoma State, Iowa State, Colorado, New Mexico, Oregon, and Boise State.

The remaining 13 at-large selected teams that will attend the championships will be announced Saturday, Nov. 14.

View: Mobile | Desktop